F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

How to Throttle Sync ('04+ F4I)

Search this Thread

Old 06-16-2007, 06:29 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How to Throttle Sync ('04+ F4I)

2006 CBR600 F4I with 12220 miles on it.

Well i will start off saying I have never done this before so post some stuff up with some pointers or such. Before you start tune your Idle control to 1300+- RPMs

Tool:
HG Carb sync/throttle Sync
Philips head screwdriver
Asortment of sockets
and an Allen Wrench

Well first off you have 4 bolts holding the tank to the frame so unscrew those

After that you will have 2 Screws on the sides of the tank that will take the same size allen wrench as the fairings

After that you will be able to lift the tank off and pivot it back and tie it down to something here i used the sissy bar and the top of the tank.. Make sure you watch the hoses coming off the gas tank as some may come loose if you pull it back to far.

After that you will have 9 screws in holding the top of the air box on so use your phillips head and take all those out and dont forget to unplug that IAC Connector on the top.

Once that is off take out your filter (btw its a good time to replace it if you need to) and after that is out you will see your Velocity Stackes there and those have 3 screws each on them dont worry they are labeled by the middle screw if you mix them up. As soon as those are unscrewed you will have 3 hoses at the top of the air box you need to disconnect and 2 at the bottom simply use the metal crimps to shimy those off..

As soon as you have all those disconnected its time to disconnect those pesky ram air tubes at the top which are possibly glued in but a flat head screwdriver will pop those suckers off.

After everything is disconnected remember where they go and the bottom of the airbox will just pop off to reveal the Throttle body and your spark plugs if you need to change them BTW.