F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

Cold start sensor

Search this Thread

Old 08-27-2007, 05:23 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cold start sensor

Hi there people, Scrapman from bonnie Scotland here.
As I live in a rather cold and wet part of the world i am having a bit of difficulty starting my bike at times.
As far as I can tell I am having problems with the cold start sensor as the bike runs on low revs from start even on the coldest days.
I am a mechanic to trade so feel free to explain any experience you may have had with this problem.
Can anyone tell me where the sensor is located or a rough price guide on one/

I am a moderator on a CBR600 forum here in the UK and I too get a bit pissed that people only join us to ask a techie question then bugger off into the distance as soon as they have the required info.
I will apologies now [sm=bustedsign.gif][sm=imsorry.gif]

Old 08-27-2007, 06:45 PM
Default RE: Cold start sensor

You might have a look a the coolant temperature sensor. The computer looks at the voltage signal from it to determine if the engine is cool enough to need cold-start enrichment. Once it warms up, it should lean out and go into closed loop mode. If your sensor is returning a falsely high voltage, the computer will think the engine is always warm.

Old 08-28-2007, 03:55 PM

do you know were that sensor is located?

Old 08-28-2007, 06:09 PM

Thank you for the swift reply 65ShelbyClone.
As alexr40 said, any idea of location?
My father owns an "End of Life Vehicle Dismantlers /Processors" and we occasional have bikes breaking, would be handy to find one of these before I go removing my own panels for the hundredth time[sm=smiley7.gif]

Old 08-29-2007, 12:45 AM