New Member Area New to CBRForum? Stop in and introduce yourself.

survived being hit by an oncoming vehicle

Search this Thread

Old 08-27-2009, 10:33 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default survived being hit by an oncoming vehicle

I've been riding motorcycles for the last 18 years. My husband and I have a passion for riding. We have 2, Ninja 250's, a CBR 600 F4i(mine) and a Superhawk(husband's). We always wear full gear. The ride below, it saved my life.

On 7/23/09 my husband and I were riding our 250's when I was struck by an oncoming vehicle.

I was airlifted to the Hospital with the following:

1. compound fracture femur (left thigh): titanium rod installed (incisons scars, but no cast required.
2. broken right forearm: titanium plate with screws installed (cast for 6 weeks)
3. broken right wrist (cast for 6 weeks))
4. broken right thumb (cast for 6 weeks)
5. perforated spleen (thankfully clotted and healed on it's own)
6. left foot broken in 4 places. (2 surgeries and a cast for 12 weeks)

I survived 4 surgeries and just came home from a three and a half week stint in the hospital. It's really good to be home. I just received a copy of the police report and I'll post the second and third page so everyone can see just how lucky I am to be alive to tell this story. My 250 was destroyed. We retained legal services to deal with this nightmare.

After a month, I really miss riding and hope that soon, I'll heal and be able to get back on because my F4i is calling ever so sweetly from the garage.

~ Becky

Name:  POLICE_REPORT_2B092619_PG2.jpg
Views: 7
Size:  104.9 KB

Name:  POLICE_REPORT_2B092619_PG3.jpg
Views: 4
Size:  34.6 KB

Name:  bike1.jpg
Views: 3
Size:  49.2 KB

Old 08-27-2009, 10:59 PM
Admin Emeritus & MVN
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Nice introductory post ... you're gonna have to walk on water to out do that

So welcome to CBRF! Maybe you're through with crashing and can enjoy motorcycling for the duration.

Old 08-27-2009, 11:01 PM