General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

help passing emissions!

Search this Thread

Old 04-25-2012, 06:12 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default help passing emissions!

Hi all,
I'm new to this whole forum thing so I don't know if this is the right place to put this or not, but I need help. I have an 02 cbr600f4i that doesn't want to pass emissions. It only has 16k miles on it. It has a pc3 set as lean as possible and an Akrapovic full system exhaust on it. After the first time it failed I replaced the spark plugs on it. It failed again so I ran injector cleaner through it and it still won't pass. I was running 91 octane fuel through it the first time I emissioned it and am now running VP110 in it. Please any help would be greatly appreciated.

Old 04-25-2012, 06:55 PM
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Where are you located?

Old 04-25-2012, 08:52 PM

We don't have emission testing here, so I'm just going to throw out some ideas that may or may not work. You want to run the octane your bike was intended for. Higher octane has more resistance to detonation, so its actually harder to ignite and will burn cooler and slower. What this may mean is even though you are running the pc as lean as possible, it may still be leaving unburned fuel out the exhaust.

Also, make sure you have a full tank of fresh gas. you don't want any fuel system cleaner in the gas if your trying to pass emissions.

Also, make sure your bike is fully warmed up before the test. If its cold, the enrichener circuit will be active and it will be running rich.

Like I said though, I've never had to go through emission testing, so take it for what its worth.

Old 04-26-2012, 02:18 AM
Track junkie & modaholic