General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

help! bike dies after warm up

Search this Thread

Old 01-25-2012, 05:25 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default help! bike dies after warm up

hey, looking for any suggestions to help troubleshoot what is causing my bike to die after about 2 mile ride.
i have a 87 cbr600 f hurricane, bike has ran horrible since i bought it. im a newbie rider but i do know some basic mechanical sense.

Problem, i rode it to work lastnight [ 40 mile ride] and it started cutting out really bad, even when i open the throttle to stretch out, it dies. and finally shut off on me 20 min in the ride. opened the fuel tank and still had about 2 gallons of fuel. but refilled anyway and drove on to work at only about 45mph but could slightly accelerate to 55.
and then finally this morning on my way home it completely got worse. i could only go 1/4 mile or less and it would bog down like out of gas type thing.finally 10 miles from home it cut off and waited a few minutes to restart and drained battery to crank. so i got it home on my truck.
so me having a little sense i checked the fuel pump wiring, has fire, regrounded, fuel pump not working. so i rerouted the gas line straight to the carbs, and magically it died exactly like it did earlier. if i rev up it cuts out til it dies completely.
so im thinking i have some very bad carb problems or something electrical maybe. but i would appreciate any advice at helping me out.

Old 01-27-2012, 10:55 PM
Super Moderator
Received 496 Likes on 449 Posts

Can you provide a little history on the bike? Like how many miles on it ? What work has been done on it? Has it or did it sit for any protracted period of time? Is it intact, meaning is everything still on the bike like proper hoses, tubes, filters and whatnot? This type of info will help users here be able to direct you in the best direction.

Old 01-28-2012, 04:59 AM