General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2001 F4i winter build?

Search this Thread

Old 10-20-2009, 09:29 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2001 F4i winter build?

this thread is about building up my bikes performance over winter. read on if you can help

i bought my bike with 11k miles on it this summer in june ( 2001 F4i ) the guy before me layed it over in a parking lot 2 times claiming at speeds no more than 15mph. the stator case had scratches and levers, pegs, ect. with about 2 weeks i had all the fairings sanded and painted black along with cleaning the chain, swing arm, motor, and anything else i could get at. the bike was looking ALOT better then when i bought it. unfortunately I also layed it down towards the middle of summer. riding in my driveway trying to get the hang of low speed maneuvers and put it on the right side 10mph ( this is my first bike, so i am a beginner ). i broke the right rear set peg and damged my fairings again and it looks like ****.

anyway the season is pretty much over here in MI and its getting to cold to ride and im taking the insurance off sense all im doing is working on it anyway. so when summer comes i want my bike to be back to its best shape. i want to REPLACE all vital parts and components of the bike and maintenance everything that needs it. so the question really is all of you who are up to par on bike maintenance i would like to know what is necessary to replace and what is necessary to take care of?

i already know i need new forks because i worked on the seals and they were bent pretty good. i also know i need a cam chain tensioner because i have a rattle that was described as a cam chain.

im going to get a new chain and sprocket kit, lefers, brakes and calipers, exhaust and a bunch of other small cosmetic parts.