F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

Oil filter rolating

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-2006, 05:16 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Oil filter rolating

Hi guys,

I'm new to the forum. As a matter of fact, this is my first post. I apologize if this is against any standard policy about first posts. I'm a mechanical engineering student at Mississippi State University. That's right I said engineering student in MS. Anyway, I belong to the school's chapter of SAE. We are currently building a formula car and the engine just so happens to be a 2000 CBR 600 F4i because of a 610cc displacement limit. We're going to turbo our motor this year due to it's lack-luster performance. Some may say how can this be. Well, when you are required to run a 20mm intake restrictor after the single throttle body and your engine team leader tuned with TPS instead of MAP like it is supposed to be done. Things don't go run like it should. Plus tuning in Mississippi and running at the Ford proving grounds in Michigan didn't help.

Ok back on topic. For packaging reasons we are going to relocat the oil filter. I was wondering if anyone knows if anyone makes a kit for this process, and if so where can we acquire one.

Thanks in advance

P.S.- I did use the search function and got zilch

Old 09-21-2006, 05:34 PM
Admin Emeritus & MVN
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: Oil filter rolating

I wouldn't relocate the oil filter -- just design the turbo to fit around it. There are turbos on F4i's that fit within the plastic -- you should have way more room in a mini-formula racer.

Old 09-21-2006, 05:40 PM

First off, sorry to hear that you're going to be an ME, you'll see why in a few years...I work in the field.