F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

Buy new or keep buying used..?

Search this Thread

Old 08-26-2008, 02:28 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Buy new or keep buying used..?

Hey guys,

I am not new to the world of CBRs, but I am new to this forum. My name is Amir and I am currently a college student. My post is regarding whether or not I should look into buying a new bike or buy a used one again. I'll shoot out a little bit of my history before I begin.

I've been riding for about two years now and I started off with a lovely ninja 250 to get used to things. After that got old, I sold it and found a '92 CBR600. It was really cheap which was great, but unfortunately the miles on the bike were 55K+ and just about 3 months ago the bike totally died on me. So now after working for a while over this summer i've made some money and can afford to spend about 2,500 on a bike.

I have been looking at craigslist for another used bike and have found some decent bikes, but a lot of them have a great deal of mileage on them and most have salvaged titles. So my question is regarding new bikes. I can afford to make monthly payments and such, but I am not too familiar with the process of buying a motorcycle and I was also wondering how much I can bring the price down off a new bike. Any help would be great, thanks for your words of wisdom!

-Amir

Old 08-26-2008, 04:30 PM
Default RE: Buy new or keep buying used..?