F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

Does sitting for 2 years cause any problems?

Search this Thread

Old 08-15-2008, 09:51 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Does sitting for 2 years cause any problems?

I'm a newbie. I've seen folk say that getting a 600 to start off with is a dumb move. I'm also getting tired of seeing so many people talk about they got a Kawi 250 and they disappointed. Even one of the Kawi sales guys I talked to said a 250 won't really like being ridden to the beach from Richmond.

Anyways, there's a guy selling an '04 CBR600F4i with 5,500 miles on it. That seems low to me for a 4 year old bike. I talked with him today. Says the original owner parked the bike when he had a kid. The guy says the bike runs well and he's even driven it to Kentucky before. He just wants to not have the payment on the bike anymore.

I'm curious though. Does a bike sitting for 2 years cause any problems? I mean the new owner has put about 900 miles on it since he's owned it. I just don't want to buy a bike and then find out it's real problem was neglect. Thanks in advance for your opinions!

Old 08-15-2008, 10:20 PM
Default RE: Does sitting for 2 years cause any problems?

Well there were some pots earlier about leaving gas in the tank not being good for the Fuel return line and the pump.
i have also heard from a dealership that leaving unchanged oil in the engin is corrosive to the seals and stuff

but thats all from stuff i have heard and read on this site

Old 08-15-2008, 10:21 PM

I purchased an F4i that had been sitting for a couple of years. I changed the oil, coolant, all brake fluid, inspected the chain, almost replaced it but didnt need to. replaced tires just becuase I wanted fresh rubber, and I replaced the fork oil becuase I had to change out the springs anyways

check the air filter, run some injector cleaner and a fresh tank of gas. and you should be ready to roll.

Old 08-16-2008, 01:44 AM