F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

2004 F4i won't start

Search this Thread

Old 02-03-2014, 12:15 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2004 F4i won't start

Hello,
I am totally new to this site and I apologize if this as been posted before by someone else and already answered. So please bare with me as I ask this question. I'm also and total beginner at mechanics and electrical problems.

I am having a lot of difficulty trouble shooting a problem I am having with my 2004 model CBR600F4i. Last November in 2013 I rode my bike to work like any other day and when I left I rode it to Wal-mart to pick something up before making my way home. Well, when I left work my bike started up just fine like any other day, however, when I left Wal-mart and tried starting my bike I couldn't get it to start. I made it to my bike, placed my helmet on my head and put my gloves back on, then I placed the key in the ignition and turned it to the on position followed by flipping the kill switch to the "ON" position. It wasn't until I tried to start the bike by pressing the started button and it didn't start that relised that my bike never primed. Now after that I looked at my instrument panel and noticed that panel indicated that my lights were on high, although none of my lights were in fact working. No matter how I tried to start my bike by changing the pattern in which I attempted to start it would it work.
Now when I came back with a trailer to pick my bike up I tried placing the key in it, turning it to the "ON" position, flipping the kill switch to the "ON" position and pressing the start button. Now the bike will roll over and run but when I remove my thumb from the start button the bike stops running. It will only run while the start button is held in place. Also, I believe at times the bike will prime. (It's been about 6 weeks since I've worked on my bike because I started a new job and have been busy with that.)