F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

15k Maintenance Check List?

Search this Thread

Old 03-12-2006, 09:53 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 15k Maintenance Check List?

Hey everyone,

First thread on this forum and a proud owner of an 02 F4i (Red/Black) since July 2005. I figured I should get my questions answered before I start riding for the new season. Please bear with me as I'm new to motorcycles and mechanically challenged. I'll break my questions with numbers and if you guys could answer them accordingly I'd appreciate it; and again "Thanks in advance for taking time and answering your questions".

1. The bike is hitting 15K soon and being my first bike, I would like it to have a thorough check up on it. I've been talking to a few local dealership here but as usual their price seems outrageous. For $200 they say they will do an oil change, tighten chain + levers, plus some other thing I cant remember. I dont know if this will include any kind of other changes such as brake fluids, radiator flush etc. As usual they told me after the check up they can tell me what needs to be changed. Is this worth it?

2. I do need a thorough check up, what do you guys usually do for $15k check up?

3. I have laid my bike down once and need to change my shifter lever and my left turn signal. If these will be installed in the price they quoted me, is it worth it?

4. I have done research on this but being a newbie I thought i'd ask it again to tick you off (lol, j/k). Besides sprockets and a new filter, what do you guys recommend to improve the performance of the bike? I know a power commander will help but i dont plan on doing any track time soon so i'm looking for some minor upgrades here.

5. For frame sliders, do i have to cut my fairing and if so, what kind of tools do you use for it?