CBR 600F2 1991 - 1994 CBR 600F2

Bike won't start-I'm a rookie & need ideas! Help..

Search this Thread

Old 07-01-2012, 12:07 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Bike won't start-I'm a rookie & need ideas! Help..

Hi guys,

I'm sure some of you have seen and helped me on some issues I've been having.

Well here's what happened now....
It was slightly cold out. (55°)

I usually don't ride on days like this so I don't know much of what to think.

I started the bike fine with the choke on. I was a little rushed and only waited maybe like 30 sec or so. The RPM's on the bike rose I turned the choke off and in neutral I rode down my drive way.
Once I started trying to engage 1st it started bogging down and died.

I tried to restart it with choke on, off made sure it was in neutral, kill switch was set to the on position. Kick stand up and down.

But the bike still won't start.

Is this just coincidence and something else is wrong with the bike or did I break something on the bike or could it just have gotten flooded.

Any ideas or similar experiences would be appreciated.

Also the bike has always started fine, idles, and runs great.
Earlier this week I had my friend who's older and been riding since a kid try it out and he said it rode fine and the carbs and all seemed in good clean condition. (He has an 09 gsxr 1000 and has had sports bikes since the early 90's)

Now what I'm asking is what could it be or is this just a rookie mistake I made.

Thanks guys!

I almost feel like I should be paying to be able to post sometimes!!!

Old 07-01-2012, 12:41 PM
Administrator and MVN, March 2012/Oct 2013 ROTM
Received 117 Likes on 107 Posts

Is your fuel turned on? Got gas in the tank?

Old 07-01-2012, 12:43 PM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

have you turned your fuel petcock on? Arrow pointing down - or up (reserve setting) if you're low on fuel?