CBR 1000F "Hurricane" 1987-1996 CBR 1000F

Possibly buying a 95 model

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-2006, 01:39 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Possibly buying a 95 model

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the CBR's but have been riding for about the last 8 years. I sold my last bike about 4 months ago and have been looking for a replacement for a few weeks. This one caught my eye, first because it's in my price bracket and second, because it will match my leathers.

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI....MEWA%3AIT&rd=1

I'm going to have a look at this bike on the weekend, can anyone give me advice on what is most important to look for?

Is black and yellow a standard paint scheme?

It's at the top of my price bracket but I think it would be well worth it.

Thanks,

Triangle (aka Len)

Old 04-27-2006, 02:39 AM
Default RE: Possibly buying a 95 model

Price is Good, K's are normal, sounds like a good deal
Prices of these bike are normally about $4.5 -> $6.5k AUD (bikes alot cheaper in the US)

I think the yellow is a Honda scheme, but I think the seat and rims are mods

Old 04-27-2006, 01:34 PM
jim

Hi Triangle

Yeah wicked bike the yellow paint scheme is not an official Honda paint job for 05 but it still looks very good.

Things to look out for are:

Seized Rear shock.
Cam chain keeps rattling 5 minutes after starting up.
Blue Smoke
Corroded exhaust (particularly around the centre collection box)
Stiff or missing Centre stand
Are the foot peg Hero blobs ground down ?
Around 35'0000 miles
Fully extended/adjusted chain.
Bald tyres