600 Modifications This section is specifically for questions and advice pertaining to mods of the older 600 models.

F3 frame with new RR FI motor

  #1  
Old 03-16-2010, 10:52 PM
95F3Fighter's Avatar
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 24
Default F3 frame with new RR FI motor

is this possible? im getting in pretty deep on this 95 F3 project, i want to do a frame off build with a fork and swingarm swap, and a newer 600rr fi motor. anyone ever attempted this? i know of a 07' 600rr motor for a killer price. complete from airbox to ecu and harness. all hand controls, everything. is the steel F3 frame up to the task? any issues people are aware of? any input would be appriciated
 
  #2  
Old 03-17-2010, 02:10 PM
95F3Fighter's Avatar
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 24
Default

anyone? im trying to think of issues before i even touch my bike.
1)dimensions of the new motor, similar shape?!? frame clearance, similar mounting points?!?
2)sprocket alignment (if i have to use the F3 swinger, if the rr swinger isnt possible)
3) electrical harness routing, mounting of components, etc.
4) fuel system, (i dont think it comes with a fuel pump, i'll need a RR one, or one that can support FI
this is just a little brainstorm, im gonna need some input from you guys, just kinda thinking outloud to the forum (my girls not too enthusiastic).
any thoughts?
 
  #3  
Old 03-17-2010, 04:14 PM
PlayfulGod's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dalton, GA
Posts: 6,026
Default

The RR motor is completely different from dimensions to mounting points. Could it be made to fit? Sure anything is possible with a torch n welder. Would I ride it? No I wouldnt.
 
  #4  
Old 03-17-2010, 04:19 PM
Kuroshio's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: West Philly, PA!
Posts: 4,476
Default

Seems to me if you're gonna go through all the trouble collecting RR parts, you might as well add an RR frame and skip all the cutting / fab / welding hassle.

Or buy the RR kit. Honda even preassembles it for you
 
  #5  
Old 03-17-2010, 05:04 PM
95F3Fighter's Avatar
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 24
Default

it does seem like a lot of work, but its not fabrication that im afraid of. i did fabricate tubular structures and machine tooling for an engineering firm for two stressful years.
its still an inline 4, so how different could the mounting points be? i wish i could see one to see how they mount. anyone have a side view showing the motor mounts? im just thinking about it, im curious.
 
  #6  
Old 03-19-2010, 04:28 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Terre Haute IN
Posts: 44
Default

Mouting points could be very different. Just because its a four cylinder doesn't mean its the same. For example. Look at a k-series honda motor vs. a b-series. They both essentially go in a civic but they are NOT easily interchangeable.
 
  #7  
Old 03-20-2010, 11:49 AM
95F3Fighter's Avatar
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 24
Default

That's my point exactly. When b series swaps got huge in the mid 90s, people were thinking k swaps were never going to be possible for the average guy. Now they are putting k20a's in every civic made. Simple mount kits. Bolt on kits to easily put a motor in a chassis that was never designed for it. So my point it that probably could be done. Crazier **** has been done.
 
  #8  
Old 03-21-2010, 06:26 PM
STREETFIGHTER88's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Colchester, Essex, UK
Posts: 343
Default

Will it fit in the frame for a start? I rekon so, i've seen a 900RR engine in one, You will need to remake ALL of the mounts, the sideones are easy enough there just triangle mounts youll need to machine, but its gunna require cutting the front ones off and the ones near the swingarm and remaking them all together.
Will it take alot of time? Yes, so youll need other transport whilst doing it.
Will the frame hold up? i rekon so again ive seen one with a 900RR engine hold up, but it wouldnt hurt to reinforce it a bit more would it?
I imagine the sprockets would line up.
I think pretty much all FI bikes have the fuelpump in the tanks so youll need a new tank i rekon not sure were the CBR RRs have them.
The wireing loom would have to go alltogether and replace it with the RR one.

But if youve got the skills, Money and Time to do it then i say go for it, post up loads of pics and bring it to the UK and let me have a go on it when its done lol

My plan this winter comeing is to get my self another road bike *COUGH* New Blade *COUGH* that will stay standad, Keep my F3 as a show and drga bike stick a 900RR engine in my F3, bore it out to a 1100 if possible, Reinforce everything then ATTEMPT to get it to pass Road safety tests to get it back on the road but no biggy if it doesnt pass road saftey a drag and show bike she shall be.

Then turbo the engine in summer 2011 or winter 2011 depending on money.
 
  #9  
Old 03-24-2010, 08:46 AM
AgentRR's Avatar
April 2010 ROTM
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 43
Default

Originally Posted by Kuroshio View Post
Seems to me if you're gonna go through all the trouble collecting RR parts, you might as well add an RR frame and skip all the cutting / fab / welding hassle.

Or buy the RR kit. Honda even preassembles it for you
I see what you did there lol.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
JonO.
General Tech
1
12-01-2012 10:45 AM
Shattered1zDream
CBR 600F
5
07-29-2010 12:56 AM
duplago
General Tech
8
03-21-2007 08:54 AM
StreetRat
CBR 600F
5
08-06-2006 04:27 AM
StreetRat
General Tech
0
07-26-2006 01:40 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: F3 frame with new RR FI motor


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.