Off Topic A place for you CBR junkies to boldly go off topic. Almost anything goes.

Just got hired for detailing *sort of long*

Search this Thread

Old 08-15-2011, 09:15 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Just got hired for detailing *sort of long*

I just graduated college this spring in automotive. I almost wish i didn't go because As much as i love vehicle's i just don't have the patients to be a mechanic. I have a terrible irish temper when i can't figure stuff out. Soo i feel that i wasted $$$ & time soo right before i graduated i realized i gotta do something else when i got out. Soo i wanted to detail vehicle's instead of fixing them, that way i stayed with my roots. Back in highschool i got a job by going to this small car dealer in my hometown in need of a inspection sticker for my '99 GTP the owner knew my dad because he would take his vehicle to get oil changes and he always knew how well he took care of his vehicle's and the owner noticed how good of shape my my car was in and asked if i wanted a job and i took the offer. I learnt a good amount with the buffer and the waxes and the steam vac but it's been soo long i forgot alot. The reason why i signed up to this forum soo i could ask for advise and opinons, because i got hired for detailing at a toyota dealer. 3 months of searching and interviews for a detailing position it finally paid off, I'm excited because i have college bills a 1yr old to support! I really do have alot of passion for cleaning vehicle's i do mine and my family's vehicle's and my vehicle is always clean. Lately i have been watching video's online about detailing that way i'm not in the dark on my first day. I just want to know what it's like to be a auto detailer or what they call it auto recon(reconditioning) at a big dealership ? Now the way they are paying me i believe is not bad. It's minimum wage which is $7.50 i believe plus $15 for every car i do and it's $20 per car after 11 cars which i'm guessing is in one week cause