General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

new CBR owner...I need some info/advice/guidence please..

Search this Thread

Old 07-09-2007, 02:43 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default new CBR owner...I need some info/advice/guidence please..

Hi guys, This is my first post here.. and I was hoping to get some info/advice on a bike project I’ve taken on

My background is mostly in cars (I’ve got 3 RX-7’s that I work on myself including engine disassembly/re-assembly, I’m a big rotor head)

Background info

I’ve acquired into my possession a 2004 ltd edition Candy blue 600RR, a guy owed me money, and couldn’t pay.. so I got the bike…

The problem is, it’s basically a rolling chassis..

The engine and gearbox is shot… The motor spun a bearing and bent a rod which took out the block too…

then the motor was pulled and left outside.. water got inside the gear box and the cogs got surface rust allover them…

Rest of the bike is in excellent condition minus a couple scratches on some of the farings..

Anyways to the point: I’m lookin for ways to restore the bike to running condition.. First option is to rebuild the current motor:

From what I’ve heard.. honda does not sell the block by itself… they sell u all 3 parts or nothing… my head and crank case are in great shape.. I just need a bottom end..

I’m not looking for huge numbers.. I’m more than happy with it being stock… I was thinking to re-use the pistons, and just look for a used crank and some rods. Is this feasible or practical? Or is it hard to come across motors parted out like this?

If I clean up the surface rust on the cogs of the gearbox can it be re-built? Or should I just get another tranny?

My second alternative is to look for a complete motor/tranny…

But because I live on the other end of the globe… shipping will be expensive on a complete longblock…