General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

First maintenance

Search this Thread

Old 05-17-2006, 03:57 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First maintenance

Hey guys, I'm about to do my first bit of maintenance work on my bike since I got it about a month ago. I'm a noob at this stuff with my bike, but I'm pretty handy and learn pretty quickly The guy I bought it from had been taking pretty good care of it and I wanna keep that up. He gave me some suggestions of oils/lubes to use, but I wanna get some more advice from other people as to what they use and how to use this stuff.

1. Engine oil - Synthetic Mobil 1 Red Cap, 15W-50. Is this the best I can use or is there something better or similar. Do I also need to get new oil filters/gaskets? anything?

2. Brake fluid - Motul DOT 5.1, now on my bike it says to only use DOT 4 brake fluid, so will this be okay. How do I know when to change/refill it?

3. Chain Lube - Motul Chain Lube, I know I need to clean the chain first, but what should I use to clean it. I've heard a lot of people use WD-40, but others have said not to.

4. All purpose lubricant (levers, cables) - Belray 6-in-1, how do I use it? where do I actually put it?

Is there anything else I should do to maintain my bike. Other parts I need to lube or oil or tweak to ensure it runs properly? I know these must be pretty trivial questions for some of you, but I really want to do it right and don't wanna mess anything up. I appreciate any help anyone can give me. Thanks [sm=hail.gif]

Old 05-17-2006, 11:38 AM
Default RE: First maintenance

I believe you'd find answers to most if not all these questions in your owner's manual.

Old 05-17-2006, 03:54 PM

ORIGINAL: kiggy74

I believe you'd find answers to most if not all these questions in your owner's manual.
Bought it used, guy didn't have the owner's manual.

Old 05-17-2006, 08:49 PM