General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Electrical Problem or?

Search this Thread

Old 10-03-2013, 11:10 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Electrical Problem or?

Hello,

I am quite new to the biking community and recently purchased a 2005 plate Honda CBR125.

I took it out for my first ride a while ago, and completed a 6 mile journey and the bike was running absolutely fine, started first time etc. On my way back home, it started to downpour. I had just entered an A road and accelerated up to about 60 mph when all of a sudden, the bike cut out. I gradually came to a stop on a pull in section simply my the momentum of the bike.

I then tried to start the bike again, and the bike would not start, however could hear it turning over. I tried giving it a little gas as It turned over but would not ignite. I tried this a few times, and the more times I tried it, the weaker the turning over became until eventually, the bike would not turn over at all. The lights on the bike all still come on fine with key in ignition on start. My first assumption was that water may have got into something electrical causing the problems. I put the bike in the garage for a few days however still would not turn over. I checked the battery by connecting it to a battery tester but the battery is reading fine (3 out of 4 lights on the oxford battery tester).

I booked the bike in to a garage to get the fork dust covers changed, but also informed them of what happened and they agreed it sounded like a water problem and added on the price to get everything sprayed etc.