General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Adding Extra Terminals for Jump

Search this Thread

Old 07-08-2010, 07:44 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Adding Extra Terminals for Jump

I don't even know if that title makes sense, but anyway.

Hi, I'm a new member, first time rider and bike owner, I am currently working on getting my bike up and running, and my battery is dead. I wonder if any of you have ever thought to add some kind of hookups for jumper cables to make jump starting easier without having to remove the seat?

Maybe some kind of wiring that leads to hookups near the rear fender or something that could be capped when not in use, but when you need a jump, there they are, and with enough contact that a full sized jumper cable could clamp/bite down on it.

I'm no mechanic or engineer, but to me it seems like it would be an easy thing to create. Does anyone see any downsides or problems to that?

Old 07-08-2010, 10:41 PM

I dont see a downside to it. Its not a bad idea either. You would only have to use a jumper on the positive, and the frame will act as the ground, so only one external hookup will be needed. They've done this on cars for quite a few years now since the engine compartments have gotten more compact and getting to the battery is difficult at times, so they use a posititve jumper post as well.

Having said that. Most people keep their bikes in proper running condition, and if the bike is well kept, battery issues are rare. Also, bikes are very easily push started. A slight incline and second gear usually has the bike running quickly.

But, its a good idea. I would even consider going to a salvage yard and pickup up and automotive jumper post. It will be easy to hook up, and they usually have caps on them.

But also, if you have a battery tender, it would make for a quick hook up. The more I think about it. the better the idea is.