F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

Speedo Inaccurate? Speed Healer?

  #1  
Old 06-17-2009, 10:10 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
Default Speedo Inaccurate? Speed Healer?

Hello, Just sold the F2 in favor of an 2001 F4i, its a great bike but I have noticed that the speedo is off, when driving 35 mph the bikes speedo says 35 mph, at 40 it says 49mph.. I would like to correct this mostly because at higher speeds such as hiway driving it is ever further off, this is causing the Odometer to show more milage than actual and thus reduce the value of the bike. I found a "Speed Healer" on ebay for about 100 dollars which claims to be able to correct this issue but I was wondering if anyone else has had this problem or used this product. Is there a way to recalibrate the factory Speedo?
Thanks
-J
 
  #2  
Old 06-17-2009, 10:14 AM
redzintimidator's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Greene, NY
Posts: 2,950
Default

ive got the same problem...it doesnt really bother me too much. There is no way to recalibrate the stock speedo because its based on RPM and what gear you are in i believe
 
  #3  
Old 06-17-2009, 11:30 AM
cageless's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Mankato, MN
Posts: 211
Default

get the speedo healer. problem solved.
 
  #4  
Old 06-17-2009, 04:48 PM
Aken's Avatar
July 2008 ROTM
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 3,002
Default

Speedometers usually have a percentage error, meaning there should be a difference in shown speed and actual speed no matter how fast you're going. If at 35mph it says 35 and at 40 it says 49, that's just weird. Either your GPS is wrong (I'm assuming that's what you're using to match speeds), or something....
 
  #5  
Old 06-17-2009, 08:40 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2008
Location:
Posts: 300
Default

Originally Posted by redzintimidator View Post
ive got the same problem...it doesnt really bother me too much. There is no way to recalibrate the stock speedo because its based on RPM and what gear you are in i believe
A speedohealer will correct the speedometer error. Before I had one 86 mph on my bike was really 80 mph. I will have one on every bike I own now.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Pamw
1000 Modifications
0
11-01-2008 09:55 PM
Mcduuuugal808
General Tech
2
10-26-2008 09:46 PM
Anubis
General Tech
8
02-01-2006 08:51 AM
milletary
CBR 600RR
2
07-02-2005 12:21 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Speedo Inaccurate? Speed Healer?


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.