F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

Power commander 3

  #1  
Old 02-22-2010, 01:08 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 51
Default Power commander 3

I am just wondering if anyone has had trouble installing a power commander on the F4i? I hooked it up correctly but when I hit the key for the bike the PCIII doesnt even come on and I dont hear the fuel pump come on. The starter will run but thats it. The PC came on when you plugged in the 9v to install a map and it had the map on it but no fuel. Has anyone else had this problem?
 
  #2  
Old 02-22-2010, 01:19 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 517
Default

Should be fairly straight forward. Did you connect it to the negative side on the battery?
 
  #3  
Old 02-22-2010, 01:35 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 51
Default

yea followed directions to the T and still nothing. I even had another avid motorcycle guy hook it up and still nothing. i took it back and there ordering another one.
 
  #4  
Old 02-22-2010, 01:39 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 517
Default

Ya, my guess would be that the wire powering the pc from the battery was defective and your only option would be a replacement.
 
  #5  
Old 02-22-2010, 01:44 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 51
Default

Im hoping thats all thats wrong with it. I hope it comes in before I run down to bike week if not oh well. How much of a gain will I get?
 
  #6  
Old 02-22-2010, 01:48 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 517
Default

Depends entirely on your setup. All the PC does is ensure optimum performance with the correct amount of fuel. And unless you've had it dyno'd then its probably not even giving you 100%.
 

Last edited by teko1020; 02-22-2010 at 01:50 PM.
  #7  
Old 02-22-2010, 06:41 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 51
Default

thats the thing i gotta wait for them to get the new one in. I really hope this one works. Im prob gonna have it dynoed when I get it all done.
 
  #8  
Old 02-23-2010, 08:33 AM
Junior2552's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 570
Default

Originally Posted by teko1020 View Post
Depends entirely on your setup. All the PC does is ensure optimum performance with the correct amount of fuel. And unless you've had it dyno'd then its probably not even giving you 100%.
+1, the PCIII doesn't necessarily GIVE you any power, it just adjusts the fuel delivery based on any aftermarket gadgets you slapped on, such as an exhaust, a high-flow air filter, etc. you wont' gain anything just by hooking up the PCIII, just the correct power curve, and air/fuel ratio.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Karmakazi
CBR 954RR
8
09-29-2009 09:58 AM
joe-4422
CBR 929RR
6
04-07-2009 09:47 AM
five0addict
F4i - Main Forum
1
09-21-2006 06:17 PM
dudek12
CBR 600RR
3
08-09-2006 01:13 AM
maxwell139
CBR 600RR
1
05-16-2006 01:30 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Power commander 3


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.