F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

Installing toggle switch on HID kit??

  #1  
Old 03-29-2011, 02:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 48
Default Installing toggle switch on HID kit??

I am installing a 8000k HID kit in my bike. However, I want to put a toggle switch on the hid system. How would I go about doing this? WHERE does the toggle switch go for the best results?

Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 03-29-2011, 02:46 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Greenville , NC
Posts: 346
Default

What is the toggle switch for, turning on and off the running light?
 
  #3  
Old 03-29-2011, 02:47 PM
jeffjones's Avatar
Welcome Crew and May 2012 Ride of the Month
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Kitchener, Ontario
Posts: 1,564
Default

Originally Posted by pipedcbr View Post
I am installing a 8000k HID kit in my bike. However, I want to put a toggle switch on the hid system. How would I go about doing this? WHERE does the toggle switch go for the best results?

Thanks
I was planning on doing this when I was going to do Angel eyes.
Just put it anywhere on the positive wire before your ballast and it will be fine.
And I am assuming your just going to put it on the left side since you can just run your LO's and have the toggle off and both lights will be off.
 
  #4  
Old 03-29-2011, 06:25 PM
waddleboy's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Lincroft, NJ
Posts: 59
Default

How do you want to set it up? There are a lot of ways to do it. You can have a single switch or a double a switch. And what you wanna control. I did it for mine and control all the lights and ccfl. Depending what you wanna do changes your set up. Your projectors high beams are a neutral source and what i mean by this is all they control is cover so thats a straight connection. all you need to is decide what you wanna with the low and ccfl
 
  #5  
Old 03-29-2011, 06:41 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 48
Default

I have it where both lights are on all the time. I want the toggle to act like the MAIN shutoff so I can run angel eyes for looks. I should put the toggle right behind the ballast...in so much as I mean that the toggle is right off the battery?
 
  #6  
Old 03-29-2011, 07:12 PM
waddleboy's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Lincroft, NJ
Posts: 59
Default

Well this is where a picture helps if you have one. The way mine was set up if i put it right off the battery, none of my lights had power because you are killing the main power feed. So if you have a picture i can probably be more helpful but you can also explain it and explain how your ballast is set up including the wires coming out of it
 
  #7  
Old 03-31-2011, 12:41 PM
waddleboy's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Lincroft, NJ
Posts: 59
Default

Okay so here are the two wiring diagrams. The first one is with the ccfl lights on all the time but your lows and high beams are on a switch. The second one is two switches but both lights are off and you can control them individually

you need to splice into the headlight wire harness but the colors i use may not be the same for your bike. Check your manual or use a volt meter to see which one is the hot wire and thats the one you splice into.

Hope this helps. Any questions just ask or pm

ccfl lights on all the time:
Name:  CCFLONallthetimeLightsoff.jpg
Views: 277
Size:  43.1 KB

Both off:
Name:  CCFLandLightsOFF.jpg
Views: 224
Size:  50.7 KB
 

Last edited by waddleboy; 03-31-2011 at 01:01 PM. Reason: Pictures no good sorry
  #8  
Old 03-10-2012, 01:07 AM
Mr. Suave's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Maryville, Tennessee
Posts: 63
Default

Can you find hotwire from the Lo-beam and splice it into the Hi-beam hotwire that already has a switch, and turn them both on and off at the same time with the stock switch?
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
banthony45
CBR 900RR
4
02-23-2011 04:17 AM
03cbrsix
CBR 600RR
11
07-27-2009 12:32 AM
mystro2005
CBR 600F4
5
09-20-2007 06:10 PM
jeffrimerman
CBR 600F4
8
09-21-2005 09:29 PM
Ntense
CBR 600F2
1
03-23-2005 02:30 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Installing toggle switch on HID kit??


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.