F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

Blowing my headlight fuse randomly..?

  #1  
Old 03-12-2011, 11:45 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 104
Default Blowing my headlight fuse randomly..?

Hey guys, so i made a post a bit ago about my headlights having problems, turns out i blew a fuse and then when i replaced the fuse i blew both headlight bulbs, i then replaced the bulbs and the lights worked fine.

I recently replaced the bulbs with a DDM tuning kit and had the fuse blow after i rode the work and was trying to show off the lights to some co-workers.. the fuse blew when i turned on the high beams while the bike was NOT on.. I put a new 10 amp fuse in and shes good to go.. so my questions are:

Does anyone have any ideas why the fuse is blowing? Its not doing it while im actually riding around and the bike is vibrating/etc... they always blew while it was sitting.

If they make a 15 amp fuse can i just put that in their and be good to go? I dont want to worry about the headlights going out when i ride to work at 3:30 in the morning.

Any input is appreciated guys, thanks.
 
  #2  
Old 03-13-2011, 03:15 AM
jp_greenville13's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Rockford, MI
Posts: 1,541
Default

No don't use a higher rated fuse. Fuses blow to protect your wiring. You have something on your headlights circuit drawing too many amps. Usually this means a short to ground. Look for frayed wires, worn insulation, and melted plugs. If you'd like a lesson on theory feel free to pm me or ask and I'll explain when I get to a pc.
 
  #3  
Old 03-13-2011, 01:17 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Bay Area, Ca
Posts: 41
Default

I was having the same problem with my HID's.. i also checked all of my wiring, connections, and grounds and everything was good.. I believe the issue is, these are drawing just over 10a to start both bulbs up when cold, which pops that 10a fuse. I put in a 15a fuse and that seems to have solved the problem. The guage of wire seems to fine with it. To be on the safe side, I leave just the low beam on, and then turn the high on after the low is warmed up.. then i shut the high off when i turn my bike off, and ive just created a habit of this..
 
  #4  
Old 03-13-2011, 02:04 PM
jp_greenville13's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Rockford, MI
Posts: 1,541
Default

Originally Posted by mdelima353 View Post
I was having the same problem with my HID's.. i also checked all of my wiring, connections, and grounds and everything was good.. I believe the issue is, these are drawing just over 10a to start both bulbs up when cold, which pops that 10a fuse. I put in a 15a fuse and that seems to have solved the problem. The guage of wire seems to fine with it. To be on the safe side, I leave just the low beam on, and then turn the high on after the low is warmed up.. then i shut the high off when i turn my bike off, and ive just created a habit of this..

If that's the case this is a feasable option. The wire can hold more than ten amps but it's not recommended for any length of time.

Good luck and keep us posted!
 
  #5  
Old 03-13-2011, 03:00 PM
jeffjones's Avatar
Welcome Crew and May 2012 Ride of the Month
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Kitchener, Ontario
Posts: 1,564
Default

Originally Posted by Survivalism View Post
Hey guys, so i made a post a bit ago about my headlights having problems, turns out i blew a fuse and then when i replaced the fuse i blew both headlight bulbs, i then replaced the bulbs and the lights worked fine.

I recently replaced the bulbs with a DDM tuning kit and had the fuse blow after i rode the work and was trying to show off the lights to some co-workers.. the fuse blew when i turned on the high beams while the bike was NOT on.. I put a new 10 amp fuse in and shes good to go.. so my questions are:

Does anyone have any ideas why the fuse is blowing? Its not doing it while im actually riding around and the bike is vibrating/etc... they always blew while it was sitting.

If they make a 15 amp fuse can i just put that in their and be good to go? I dont want to worry about the headlights going out when i ride to work at 3:30 in the morning.

Any input is appreciated guys, thanks.
Do you have the 35W or 55W HID's?

The 35W's should only pull about 6A at start-up and the 55W's probably around the 9A at start-up. So if they are the 55W that may be why they keep doing that.
 
  #6  
Old 03-13-2011, 04:15 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Bay Area, Ca
Posts: 41
Default

they are 35w.. but im thinking they are rated 6a starting each ballast/igniter.. so to fire both up, im thinking 12a?
 
  #7  
Old 03-13-2011, 09:16 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 104
Default

Im running 35 watts as well.. ill try and get the fuse to blow tomorrow morning by turning the bike on cold with both headlights on and report back
 
  #8  
Old 03-13-2011, 11:01 PM
CodyJ28's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Central Oregon
Posts: 363
Default

i was having this same problem...when i turned my bike on with boths lights my low beam light would flash on and off...also blew 2 fuses trying to figure it out...i seen on the DDM site they said upping your fuse 5 amps can help...i got some 15 amp fuses so i'll mess with it tomorrow
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
campos_motorsports
F2 Tech
3
05-03-2013 05:24 AM
Samuel Petrasca
CBR 600F2
5
02-21-2012 02:37 PM
Cahon
F4i - Main Forum
1
08-02-2010 03:07 PM
05r6guy
CBR 929RR
1
04-04-2010 05:40 PM
Bibdrums
CBR 600F2
2
08-08-2006 09:42 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Blowing my headlight fuse randomly..?


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.