Winter time repair time!

Search this Thread

Old 01-04-2014, 07:28 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Winter time repair time!

Well as some of you may know I got in a wreck a few months ago on my 03 CBR600RR. Unfortunately my local (and incompetent) Progressive agent gave me the wrong coverage and so my crash wasn't covered under my insurance. After battling with Progressive for months now and being avoided by their customer support, lied to, mislead, accused of lying (which I disproved and got no apology for) and insulted multiple times on a personal level...the "case" I had is also denied. This means they're not doing anything for me at all.

I was going to hire an attorney but I'm a college student with a tuition bill due soon and can't afford to do that so I'm out of luck. It basically looks like I'll be repairing my bike and selling it off because I can't afford to get a new jacket, pants, gloves and helmet (boots need new toe sliders too).

So it looks like I'll be without a bike for the next few years so the repairs I'm making are kind of bitter sweet for me. Hopefully I'll still get a decent price for the bike in the spring though.

Anywho, you can find the crash pics and more information on the insurance crap here: https://cbrforum.com/forum/off-topic...-today-149711/

This is kind of going to be a log (and where I'll ask for advice/tips) of my rebuild/repair process. So far I've got most the fairings off (working on the nose fairing now, it's a pain) and the damages don't look too terrible. I'll have some pics up in a bit.

Here's the list of stuff to get repaired/replaced/checked (so far):
Valve adjustment & check/replace CCT (one of these things [I think at least] was the cause of a motor tick for the 2K miles since I had the bike)
Frame sliders (swapping to the ones you cut the fairings for obviously)
Left side rearset
Left side lower fairing
Bar ends (both)
Left side bar grip
Left side mirror
Misc. bolts I've found were missing or have broken.