Do YOU know how to ride?

Search this Thread

Old 01-12-2007, 07:08 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Do YOU know how to ride?

Okay, I'm not too good with copying quotes, etc., so...on another post, things got a little out of hand...so a member, tahoesc, told me that because I didn't have pictures of track days, or time slips, that I didn't know how to ride, which to me, that's saying that he's saying that about everybody on here. So, guys AND gals, do you have to have track day pics and time slips to know how to ride?

Old 01-12-2007, 07:27 PM
Default RE: Do YOU know how to ride?

I have only been on this forum a few months, and I've never me TahoeSC, but from what I have read the advice has always been pretty good - and I suspect that the comment wasn't meant as an insult.

In my short riding career, the corners and lines I take on my common routes are much smoother, safer and often faster than they were a few months ago. I hope also, that they will be even better a few months from now. The point is that any experience can make you a better rider. Riding a track, which I haven't done, gives you the opportunity to tweak, tune and smooth out all of your inputs and reactions without worry about street stuff, and you get to do it lap after lap so you really can fix things and improve. I think that may have been the sentiment. I know 'how' to ride, yes. But this summer after what I hope to be a number of track days, I will certainly be better. The same the following year, and so on.

Better to improve the rider than the bike, in my opinion. We can all improve, but its more important to enjoy and look forward to your next ride.....

Chris.

Old 01-12-2007, 07:48 PM

no i don't...still learning...
still haven't mastered the twisties that i go every weekend...
seems to surprise me every time...but i'm faster(smoother) every time...
Ride safe and Stay alive...
you don't have to be a super hero to save somebody...i think that wasTahoesc's intention...