CBR 600F3 1995 - 1998 CBR 600F3 Forum

which regulator/rectifier is best to use?

  #11  
Old 05-01-2010, 02:37 PM
KRUSHER F3's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: near Birmingham Alabama
Posts: 226
Default

Checked the a/c voltage from the stator and it was below 50 volts so I'm changing the stator out with the other one I have. When I took the stator off there was a alot of oil inside the cover, should that be in there or could that be part of my problem?
Like I said earlier I did lay it down on that side a little over a week ago. When I stood it back up It wouldn't do nothing so I let it set there while I was checking on my buddy that went down too. After mine sat there for a while then it cranked right up with no problem.
 
  #12  
Old 05-01-2010, 03:14 PM
Shadow's Avatar
Redcoat, & Maxwell's Silver Hammer, MVN and curmudgeon
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Mud hut, Zululand
Posts: 11,614
Default

there was a a lot of oil inside the cover,
They do run in oil I think. Maybe a seal has gone and there's too much oil. Not sure
Maybe a teaspoon full or two, is about what I have in my stator.....
 
  #13  
Old 05-01-2010, 03:20 PM
KRUSHER F3's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: near Birmingham Alabama
Posts: 226
Default

Originally Posted by Shadow View Post
there was a a lot of oil inside the cover,
They do run in oil I think. Maybe a seal has gone and there's too much oil. Not sure
Maybe a teaspoon full or two, is about what I have in my stator.....
not this much I would assume. coul that much effect the stator?
Name:  oilfromstatormay12010.jpg
Views: 325
Size:  6.2 KB
 
  #14  
Old 05-01-2010, 03:32 PM
Shadow's Avatar
Redcoat, & Maxwell's Silver Hammer, MVN and curmudgeon
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Mud hut, Zululand
Posts: 11,614
Default

I'm not sure whether it would or not but I'd have the seals looked at - it SEEMS a bit much but some bikes run more than others. My 1000F doesn't have anywhere near that much, as I recall.
 
  #15  
Old 05-01-2010, 03:49 PM
KRUSHER F3's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: near Birmingham Alabama
Posts: 226
Default

Originally Posted by Shadow View Post
I'm not sure whether it would or not but I'd have the seals looked at - it SEEMS a bit much but some bikes run more than others. My 1000F doesn't have anywhere near that much, as I recall.
Like I said though, I laid it down on that side. When I stood it back up It wouldn't do nothing so I let it set there.
 
  #16  
Old 05-01-2010, 08:18 PM
KRUSHER F3's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: near Birmingham Alabama
Posts: 226
Default

well got the stator changed out and checked the voltages across the battery again and here are the results of the two:

ENGINE TEMP/RPM...........OTHER STATOR..............THIS STATOR
cold Idle 1100 to 1500------12.49 volts-------------12.36 volts
cold 2500 RPM-------------13.16 volts--------------12.98 volts
cold 5000 RPM-------------12.57 volts--------------14.20 volts

hot 1100 to 1500 RPM-----12.50 volts--------------12.26 volts
hot 2500 RPM-------------12.82 volts--------------12.45 volts
hot 5000 RPM-------------13.60 volts--------------13.25 volts

Not much difference between the two stators. I checked both for resistance they were the same checked for the a/c voltage coming out of each stator wire, the same (forgot to write them down but were all 3 consistent) So based on this information my charging system I would say is working properly, all I need to do is replace the R/R.
Anyone agree or disagree? opinions?
 

Last edited by KRUSHER F3; 05-02-2010 at 09:04 AM.
  #17  
Old 05-03-2010, 12:13 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 36
Default

Originally Posted by IDoDirt View Post
The nice thing about a Stator is that there is not much too it and it's easy to check with a meter. To test with a meter, you just measure ohms (resistance) across any 2 of the yellow wires that are in the connector that go to the R/R. The connector needs to be unplugged and the ingnition turned off. The proper value to read would be 0.1 - 1.0 Ohms. That is a very low reading, but remember that it's just a coil of wire. Make checks across all 3 combinations of the yellow wires. If any of them read outside of the specification, then you should replace it.

I'm currently using GSX/R regulators on both my F3's. The original on my F3 melted, and the other I just replaced as a precautionary measure.
thank you very much
 
  #18  
Old 04-14-2019, 08:56 AM
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: CARBON HILL ALABAMA USA
Posts: 20
Default 3 stator

does it matter that the f3 has a wet stator aand the gsxr stators are not?
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
paul_schmd
CBR 929RR
2
05-08-2010 11:09 PM
chrisrc
CBR1000F Wanted / Swap
11
04-19-2010 03:03 AM
cbrsixpack
The Hurricane Saloon
18
01-09-2010 02:18 PM
shrek
CBR 929RR
2
02-05-2008 09:58 AM
jeffrimerman
CBR 600F4
7
12-22-2006 03:53 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: which regulator/rectifier is best to use?


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.