CBR 600F3 1995 - 1998 CBR 600F3 Forum

Reasons for poor high rpm?

Old 06-13-2017, 11:48 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Reasons for poor high rpm performance?

I'm a budding DIY mechanic and I'm trying to sort out this issue before I just throw bigger mains in. I'm in Denver, so I wouldn't think it'd run lean stock at this altitude but maybe each bike is different/I'm missing something totally obvious. If you guys have any ideas on what to check, I'm all ears and hands 🙌

I'm running lean (I think?) at higher rpm, i.e. sputtering and gasping. It's almost as if the rev limiter is being hit at ~10.5k 😧 I'm not having any of these issues at lower rpm, and in neutral she revs all the way up just fine.

​​​As far as I know the bike is stock except for a K&N air filter and a Yoshi exhaust.

I've cleaned the jets in Berryman's dip and sprayed everything out. Bench-syncd the carbs, checked for diaphragm leaks, everything appears good to the naked eye. Put in new plugs, too. They appear to be in good condition at a light gray.

I'm going to try a vacuum test next, but I've never done one before (I also tried to do a compression test but I couldn't get the nozzle to screw in more than two turns? It says hand-tighten only but I'm not sure if that would cause a compression leak).

Also, do I need to somehow connect to all four cylinders in order to check for vacuum or should I do one cylinder at a time? Would reading only one cylinder have a difference in vacuum to all at the same time? How the hell am I supposed to get an air-tight connection to the number 1 cylinder's screw port? 😡

And last question: would it be unreasonable for my bike to just need bigger mains? I'm not sure if it's the whole "every bike has their own personality" situation or if running lean at altitude means there is definitely a problem.

Thanks guys! I've attached a pic of the ports in question, with the red asterix denoting the port that I found uncovered about a week ago.

Name:  9si4zvh.jpg