CBR 600F3 1995 - 1998 CBR 600F3 Forum

Chain Cleaning/Lube Newbie Help Please

Search this Thread

Old 02-11-2009, 08:26 AM
March 2009 ROTM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Chain Cleaning/Lube Newbie Help Please

Ok so since i am still new to bike i have been reading about chain upkeep and i am just getting flustered with all the stuff i keep reading about what type of cleaner to use, how to clean the chain, X and O ring chains so i am putting this up for a direct answer.

First off what type of chain do the F3's have (and what is the difference between X and O ring chains?)

Second what is the best cleaner to use i read that people use kerosene but others use canned cleaners to clean up the chain and sprockets.

Last what is a good chain lube to use and is thier a special way to lube up a chain or do you just go crazy and spray the whole chain down?

Thanks for the info in advance!!!!!!

Old 02-11-2009, 09:04 AM

X ring has a a flat profile to the O-ring, which gives it a greater contact area, thus it stays cleaner (grit is death to chains) and lasts longer than the other types of chain. Interior grit not only ruins the chain quicker it also wears the sprocket more.

O ring doesn't last any longer than a normal unsealed chain. (an ordinary chain may cost $28, while an o-ring chain costs $35, and the XO-ring Chain is more than $100, designed to fit the same motorcycle.

Kerosene and a couple of good wire brushes will clean the chain. You could also use chain cleaner by Motorex or however you spell it. Either way it will get the job done. You could also take the chain off and soak it depending on how dirty it is. Everytime you spray the chain lube on it though, that stuff is supposed to clean the dirt away thats on there.

I use the repsol chain lube. It is more expensive than the other stuff but it never flings onto my rims which saves me time cleaning them so its worth it.

Old 02-11-2009, 08:05 PM
Retired Super Moderator and Fighterer