CBR 600F2 1991 - 1994 CBR 600F2

Q-Plate F2 - Advice Please (photos)

Search this Thread

Old 08-21-2013, 12:18 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Q-Plate F2 - Advice Please (photos)

Hello strangers! I've been away playing on my 600 all spring and summer, but now I could do with some advice. Here are some photos first (because we all love photos)

Bugkiller’s CBR1000F and my CBR600F loaded to the gunnels with camping bits.

I introduced Bugkiller to the Llanberris Pass. It’s good in a car, but great on a bike. Even with luggage!

Camping and a cuppa at Thundersprint in Anglesey.

Goldie now (photographed by an amateur photographer at work): new speedo cable (old one was broke), new black double-bubble screen (old was cracked), replaced fork seals and oil, new clutch cable, new flush mount rear indicators, second hand Beowulf can.

Now onto the issue; Goldie is a Q plate (made from parts) and I’m a noob. This makes my insurance cripplingly high. I could insure a CBR1100XX on a regular plate for less. My plan of getting a lower powered, older CBR for cheaper insurance has backfired hilariously.

I love the bike, so I don’t want to sell her. I’ve heard that I can buy a frame with a V5 certificate, transfer to the new frame and re-issue her with a regular registration plate. Does anyone have any experience or more substantial information on this please?

If not, I might need to get a second/better paying job somehow!

Old 08-21-2013, 02:46 PM
Welcome Crew and ROTY 2014
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Nice looking F2, for sure!

Anyway, hopefully a fellow Brit will hop on here and give you some clarification... I'm assuming a "Q plate" is similar to what a "salvage titled" bike is, here in the U.S.?

Old 08-21-2013, 03:09 PM

Originally Posted by JNSRacing
Nice looking F2, for sure!

Anyway, hopefully a fellow Brit will hop on here and give you some clarification... I'm assuming a "Q plate" is similar to what a "salvage titled" bike is, here in the U.S.?