Weird steering at low speed...

Search this Thread

Old 08-21-2007, 10:28 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Weird steering at low speed...

Hi, I'm a blasphemous GSXR600 rider at the moment, but I'm looking at buying a 2006 CBR1000RR. I really wanted the CBR from the beginning, but I got such a good deal on the GSXR (a mint 2006 with 1k miles for $6k) I couldn't resist. The GSXR is actually a really nice bike; lightweight,nimble, and relatively comfortable. Of course being a 600, it lacks significant low and mid range power and torque.

I've been riding for about 20 years now, across a variety of bikes: FZR1000, CBR1000, TL1000S, TL1000R, Daytona 955i, FZ-1, and now the GSXR600. I test rode a 2006 CBR1000RR and a 2006 GSXR1000 today, and I rode my 600 before and after both test rides. Predictably the GSXR1000 handles almost exactly like the 600 (but with the obvious boost in power), although the extra weight is just barely noticeable. I didn't expect this, but Ireally liked the power delivery of the CBR better better than the GSXR1000. Now follows what I found troubling about the CBR.

From the start the CBR steering felt like it was fighting me in low speed turns, and I mean in a noticeable, worrying manner ("Whoa! WTF is this thing doing?!"). I took the bike to a large, open parking lot and did a fair number of turns, trying to figure out what was happening. The steering trouble wasmost difficult to counterif I was decelerating into the turn. When I kept speed even through the turn the steering felt rather neutral, though perhaps a bit vague. When Iwas accelerating through the turn the steering felt about right. These are relatively low speed, city driving turns, maybe 20-40 mph range.