CBR 1000F "Hurricane" 1987-1996 CBR 1000F

Bike is struggling to start...

Search this Thread

Old 11-21-2008, 09:45 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Bike is struggling to start...

Hi there.I'mnew to this forum, but I'm sure thats no excuse, and hopefully you'll forgive me...

I've been riding CBR F's for about 10 years now, and am loathe to try anything else.
I have afull fairing(ed) 1990anda semi-fightered 1993 model.

Anyhoo, I won't beat around the bush.It's the1990 model that has recently started having issues starting, and I thought I'd ask here if anyone might have any ideas?

A bit of background:
The bike is serviced every 1 years. New plugs, filter gets cleaned etc, etc. Every 6 months it gets an oil change (5w-40) irrespective of how clean it looks. Carb hasn't been serviced for about 2 years.

Just recently, its been struggling to get going. (here's a link to a vid on yootubeI did of how sick it sounds - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kfgqjgIeoqk ). Now, its not like this all the time. Sometimes it kicks over straight away, but mostly, i'd be lucky not to run the battery flat first. As it is, I've had to jump off a booster these last few mornings just to get my sorry butt to work...

To me, the starter motor sounds extremely weak, but was rebuilt about a week ago because thats what I thought the problem was. As you can tell by the vid, the starter motor appears to be struggling, and even though it was rebuilt, it is doing exactly the same thing. So I'm sure, even though it sounds bad, the starter motor is not the problem.

My partner reckons it sounds like a wheezy old man...

Diagnostics so far: