About to Adjust Chain Slack - CBR Forum - Enthusiast forums for Honda CBR Owners

600 Modifications This section is specifically for questions and advice pertaining to mods of the current 600 models.

About to Adjust Chain Slack

  #1  
Old 09-02-2010, 11:43 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: OKC
Posts: 4
Default About to Adjust Chain Slack

This is going to be my first time adjusting chain slack on the 07' CBR600RR I got a few weeks ago. Does anyone have any bike specific pointers when it comes to this procedure. It seems pretty straight forward, just loosen the axle nut and then spin the little nuts on the swing arm to push the axle back a little bit? Or am I missing anything?

Also what is the recommended chain slack on this bike? 2"-3"?
 
  #2  
Old 09-02-2010, 11:44 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: OKC
Posts: 4
Default

wrong sub-forum. admin please move this to general 600 if you are reading this.
 
  #3  
Old 09-02-2010, 03:49 PM
bambam's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: J-ville, FLORIDA
Posts: 739
Default

somebody correct me but i think its like 3/4" to 1" slack.. loosen axle , loosen lock-nuts and turn adjuster two equal turns at a time to maintain tracking straight. to check you can measure from axlebolt to swingarm bolt and both sides should match.. not too bad of a job, also , always lube chain after adjustment...hope this helps...peeece
 
  #4  
Old 09-25-2010, 10:58 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 133
Default

yeah 3/4 to 1 inch sounds better.

2 to 3" is toooo loose. But that's still far better and safer than too tight.
 
  #5  
Old 09-25-2010, 11:13 PM
infinity101's Avatar
Junior Member
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 24
Default

sigh i need to change my chain too thanks for the reminder '-.- :P
 
  #6  
Old 09-25-2010, 11:14 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 133
Default

You're Welcome! Lawl.
 
  #7  
Old 09-26-2010, 12:52 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 234
Default

You don't want it to loose cause it can damage your frame. I also move my bike forward and check my measurement in two or three different spots to make sure I get the same measurement. If not your chain may need a good cleaning.


Moses
 
  #8  
Old 09-26-2010, 07:25 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 133
Default

Originally Posted by WiSH2oo0 View Post
You don't want it to loose cause it can damage your frame. I also move my bike forward and check my measurement in two or three different spots to make sure I get the same measurement. If not your chain may need a good cleaning.


Moses
Eh. It can scratch the paint on the swingarm. Thats about it. Much better than what a tight chain can do. Like wreak havoc on your tranny output shaft, wear the hell out of the sprockets and chain itself, and even snap, doing more damage to the frame, and likely the rider.

I've seen people set chains too tight while the suspension is unloaded, not realizing it gets even tighter with the weight of the bike, then tighter yet with the weight of the rider.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
IIRyan
F4i - Main Forum
6
07-23-2010 05:13 PM
Carbon_cavvy
F4i - Main Forum
4
12-27-2007 03:34 AM
phsycleRR
General Tech
5
09-02-2006 09:44 AM
raredogg
F4i - Main Forum
19
08-28-2006 10:30 PM
ninetyfivehp
F4i - Main Forum
17
07-29-2006 11:32 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: About to Adjust Chain Slack


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.