Track Days & Riding Schools This section is for the announcement of open track days and educational riding school events.

I want to learn!!

Search this Thread

Old 09-13-2010, 07:54 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I want to learn!!

Hey I'm Evan and new to the forum....I really want to get into bike racing and really am not sure where to start. I have been riding for 5 years and took and riding course which was pretty much the basics to get my license...I feel really comfortable on a bike and would like to start racing. I have a lot of questions so forgive me...

What different classes are there for Racing?

What is required for me to race (clothing/money ect ect?)

What is required of my bike (race plastics/lights/tires/safety gear ect ect)

Do I need a bike strictly for Racing?

What are good classes/courses to take in my area? (I live in NY Dutchess County)

I do not have a bike yet to race with...I currently have a Harley which I will post pics shortly which Im probably going to sell and try and pick up a Honda. Any recommendations or things to look for?

Thanks in advance guys!

-Evan-

Old 09-14-2010, 01:11 PM

Welcome to the forum!
That's great that you want to try out racing; but it sounds like you should try out some track days to see if you like it, before you sign up for a race.... You can very easy find track day schools in your area. 'Search in Google'. They go for about $150 to $200 here in AZ.
For your questions:

*What different classes are there for Racing?
A lot! Check out this link for the
OFFICIAL ASRA/CCS ROAD RACE PRE-ENTRY FORM
http://www.ccsracing.us/forms/2010/m...r%20packet.pdf
This link will probably answer most of your racing questions.
You should also check out these links for more information, + cool pics/videos
http://www.ccsracing.us/
http://www.amaproracing.com/rr/

*What is required for me to race (clothing/money ect ect?)
1. HELMET - An UNDAMAGED full-faced helmet.