Street Skills Information to keep you from rashing your bike or yourself. Safe riding techniques only please.

Defensive Riding

Search this Thread

Old 02-25-2011, 07:27 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Defensive Riding

I'll keep it short and sweet! I am very new to riding like just finished rebuilding my 00 cbr f4 that I bought wrecked. ( I had a buddy of mine, who new what he was doing teach me what to do in order to fix the bike.) Anyway, I would like anyone to give me suggestions on ways to practice/prepare myself for situations when I need to avoid collisions or when road conditions change suddenly.

Old 02-25-2011, 07:43 PM

Always make eye contact with the other drivers around you. Drive like they will not see you because most times they wont or they wont care about checking. I have had to punch at least 5 peoples windows to stop them from killing me. Just be careful and aware. Just my 2c

Old 02-25-2011, 10:32 PM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Well I'd recommend finding a nice big empty parking lot and practice. You want to create muscle memory of how to do things.

Biggest thing to practice is braking. Learn how long it takes you to stop your bike safely. This will improve with actual experience. But you need to know how much space you need to put between yourself and the car in front of you. One of the biggest fears you'll face very quickly is that you can't stop in time to avoid hitting something in front of you.
v
Another thing to practice is throttle control. Being able to make smooth adjustments to and finely control your speed will make turning much easier. Easy to practice too. Just ride in a straight line and try to increase / decrease your speed by a set amount with a single throttle adjustment.