Road Trips Post up your road trips here!

Grand Circle Tour

Search this Thread

Old 07-03-2011, 06:23 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Grand Circle Tour

The Grand Circle Tour includes the most scenic portions of the southwestern United States. you can start anywhere along the circle, but most start in Denver, CO.

Depending on how much time you have you can visit a few or many National Parks. Colorado has the Black Canyon of the Gunnison National Park and Mesa Verde. New Mexico has Pecos National Historical Park and Chaco Canyon. Unbelievable Utah has Arches National Park, Canyonlands National Park, Capital Reef National Park, Bryce Canyon, and Zion National Parks. And the most spectacular, Grand Canyon, is in Arizona. Depending on how you do the circle, you could also include Yellowstone.

As an exploration geologist, I worked in and near almost all these areas. Bring sneakers or hiking shoes with you to really see these sites. These areas should be on everyone's bucket list.

If you can't take your own bike, I have met people from all over the world who flew into Denver and rented motorcycles.

Old 07-05-2011, 05:26 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

That's a dream ride for sure

Old 07-05-2011, 11:27 AM
Received 13 Likes on 11 Posts

I made a similar trip by car years ago. Also hit 4-corners, Estes park, Pike's peek, the great salt lake, Bad Lands and Mt Rushmore. The painted desert was hotter than hot in July. There are many things to see as you pointed out. We put 6,200 mile on in 2 weeks by rotating 4 drivers on 8 hour shifts.

Like I said, I did it by car but just want to point out that the passes up over the Rockies can be cool while very hot down below near Mesa Verde and other point in the open. There was some snow on top of Pike's Peek the third week of July.