Road Racing Tell your stories here.

Critique my ride - or - here are some track photos, I want to get better

Search this Thread

Old 06-28-2009, 07:32 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Critique my ride - or - here are some track photos, I want to get better

Hey all - As most of you know I've been doing a lot of touring lately on the F4. I finally got all the ducks in the row so I could get to track school... and that really was a light bulb moment.

To back track - I got into bikes when I was a kid. I started riding on the street and like most young males liked to ride twisty roads fast. Operative word being fast... but in the end I said enough is enough - sold my ninja 600, kept my maxim 650 and said that's it. I'm not going to ride on the street like an idiot - and that left behind touring. Really it was the only thing I enjoyed doing besides going fast.

Fast forward a few more years and I brought my CBR F4 - an ex-track bike that I planned on street and tracking. Finally this summer I got into the Kawasaki High Performance Riding School here at Atlantic Motorsports Park. Eleven corners, 1.6 miles, lots of elevation changes and many blind apexs.

The track is abosolutely awesome. The school's instructors were awesome. At the end of the school I was probably running 1:40s - where a good 600 racer can get 1:14. I say that for persepective on the pace we were going in the school - not crazy fast. The school kept hammering home to work on the basics and not going fast. Be smooth, get off the bike, find and keep consistantly good lines. If you do that, then you will go faster.

So I've not had my bike on the street since. I've been hooked. This long burning desire to ride a bike on a twisty road has been rekindled. I have never felt safer or more connected to the bike than on the track.

So ramble over.