Riding Gear Questions and reviews about jackets, helmets, gloves, etc.

TCX Boots

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2011, 09:42 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default TCX Boots

hey guys..i just bought a pair of TCX S-Zero boots to go to the mountains with and i was wondering if any of you guys have any experience with these boots and wat kind of feedback you have on them. I have a pair of Alpinestar smx-1 boots for everyday commuting.

Attached Thumbnails TCX Boots-tcx.jpg   TCX Boots-0901_sbkp_01_z-alpinestars_riding_shoes-s-mx1_black.jpg  
Old 07-12-2011, 09:47 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Looks like you'd be better off wearing the TCX's all the time. Those Alpines don't look like they come up very high.

Ankle support is really what you need. Anyways, I have no experience with the TCXs but they look pretty good

Old 07-12-2011, 09:59 AM

I don't have those boots, but I have worn TCX for years.

The first set lasted about two years, and then I replaced them. I think one of the seams was busting out, although I wore them every day. They'd also been down in two low-speed wrecks. That said, I still have them upstairs for an emergency, though I suspect they'd pretty well disintegrate on impact at any real speed.

When I replaced them, I bought a pair of Synergy boots on clearance online. Those burst a seam in about four months near a fabric flex point at the curve on the top of the foot (not a critical area, but they weren't very old.) When I emailed TCX I got fantastic customer service - everyone was very friendly and only asked that I send in a picture of the damage (below). Because the boots I bought online were out of production, they replaced them with a significantly more expensive pair and even paid the shipping. I've been wearing those for the last few months.