Off Topic A place for you CBR junkies to boldly go off topic. Almost anything goes.

Working Out

Search this Thread

Old 08-20-2010, 12:52 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Working Out

Any of you guys like to workout at the gym? I am 6ft. and 120 pounds so I am trying to gain some muscle and look more cut. So far I have been doing about an hour and a half of at the gym. I try to go 5-6 days a week. I alternate between muscle groups.

So for day 1 I would do back and bi. Next day chest and tri. Then repeat. I am not working my lower body right now cuz I have Runner's Knee. Resting my knee for a bit before I hit my calves, hamstrings, and quads.

But my workout routine feels out of whack as I am still an amateur. I feel like I am missing some muscle groups and not efficiently using every second of my time. Yeah, if I work out for a year, 7 days a week, I know I will get results. But I would rather do it efficiently and correctly to gain results in 6 months.

So if there is a person out there who knows this stuff, I would like some advice and maybe some tips on building a routine that fits my body and goals.

Also, do I need to eat a lot? And what types of foods? Is it essential that I drink protein? Before and after?

Thanks bros

Old 08-20-2010, 07:59 AM

Wow, where to start.

Routine,
Some will advocate training the smaller groups (tris,bis) after larger groups such as you are doing. I personally don’t do this because I don’t feel its efficient. I like to hit each group fresh, for me in the past I tried what you are doing and could never get a good workout of my arms after doing the larger groups. My personal routine is:

Sun – Back
Mon – Chest, Calves
Tues – Quads, Hams
Wed – Rest
Thurs – Tris, Bis
Fri – Shoulders, Traps
Sat – Rest

And you’re right, you’re missing shoulders traps which are an essential part for a good physique.