Off Topic A place for you CBR junkies to boldly go off topic. Almost anything goes.

The value of Gear!

Search this Thread

Old 08-21-2010, 01:47 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default The value of Gear!

I haven't posted on here in a long time, I am still fairly new to Motorcycles. I have seen a lot of fellow Brothers and Sisters riding without gear. Or minimal cut rate gear due to price. I agree it's your choice, your life. I was on 95 in Deleware last night sitting in traffic to get onto route 1 south. Out of no where I hear a squeal of tires and boom! I watch as my bike goes forward and I fly to the left and roll on the ground!

I drag myself out of the center lane to avoid from being ran over. I had hit my head twice on the ground upon impact. I am thankful to God I am okay. I was rushed to the hospital cause of the pain and my left leg. I was released at 11 am this morning and besides a little road rash on my left elbow, and a cut on my left calf I am up and walking.

I wrote all that to say this, When buying my gear I kept hearing people say "you'll never need that", "That helmets too expensive" etc. etc. I am a firm believer in paying the extra if the quality is worth it, and it serves it's purpose. I wrote this in hope someone might read this and put forth the extra 100$ for that next level of gear! You never know you needed it till it's time!

Be Safe: Chris

Old 08-21-2010, 08:08 PM

Glad to hear you are ok, but sorry you got hit by someone.

I definitely know the value of gear, not just from having raced MX, but also from a couple of crashes. If not for gear, I probably would not be riding today, and definitely would have a pin in my left ankle instead of it healing well without surgery.

Old 08-21-2010, 08:25 PM