New Member Area New to CBRForum? Stop in and introduce yourself.

Harley Rider adding a 2006 CBR to the stable

Search this Thread

Old 08-27-2016, 05:27 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Smile Harley Rider adding a 2006 CBR to the stable

Hi, all!

Engineer in this early '30s here. I've been riding motorcycles for the past eleven years. I love Harleys and am on my third one, a black 2015 Dyna Fat Bob (pic attached). I've ridden cross-country twice, I have my beginner and advanced MSF certifications, and I've logged a total of ~60k miles.

For the past year, an Army buddy has been trying to sell his 2006 CBR600RR. He was nervous to sell it online because of scammers, really limiting his scope. I like all bikes, but crotch rockets aren't really my thing. He recently made me an offer I couldn't refuse. For his '06 CBR600RR with less than 3k miles, never dropped, never even hooned, break-in service and 3k mile service completed, he's asking $2k. The only thing it needs is a license plate bracket (it was broken in the garage moving it around). Considering there aren't any in the area in as good of shape and the most expensive is going for $6,700, I'd say that's a pretty good deal.

The bike only includes one key. From what I've been able to look up online, it seems some of the keys have a transponder in them? I was going to order a blank but I don't know which one to get. Also, it doesn't come with a manual, and I'd like to pick one up along with a dealer service manual. Any idea where I could download an electronic one (I'm willing to pay).

Also, since I'm used to bikes that have a "lifetime Kevlar belt" for the final drive, what is the maintenance on the sprockets/chain?

I'm driving down to San Diego in two weeks to get it. Any responses would be appreciate. Thanks!

Attached Thumbnails Harley Rider adding a 2006 CBR to the stable-image.jpeg  

Last edited by beef_weezle; 08-27-2016 at 05:29 PM. Reason: Pics and stuff
Old 08-27-2016, 06:03 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post