New Member Area New to CBRForum? Stop in and introduce yourself.

Complete newbie to bikes in general

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2009, 10:15 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking Complete newbie to bikes in general

Hi All,

I finally bought an F2 to work on, after years of wanting one, but it didn't stop there!

My history with bikes is a little embarrassing to say the least, but here it goes.

I really wanted to start riding a few years ago when I was in high school, but I lived in a house that did not allow bikes on the property. And I really, really wanted a CBR 600F2 So being hard headed, I went out and bought a bike anyway (an Interceptor 750, because I found a really good deal), with the idea that I could ride after a couple of friends taught me. Amazingly, I was not injured in my crash, but was seriously let down and thought that I would move on and forget about bikes in college. I fixed the bike with help from a friend and sold it.

After graduating, I didn't think about it much, and I wasn't really making enough to afford one anyway. I also didn't have a secure place to leave one.

But a few months ago, everything changed, and this feeling of wanting to ride just kind of exploded. I became financially stable and moved and got my own garage. I had been saving money from a lot of overtime that I had been working and it was like it all just came together. I also have been very fortunate in that I work with someone who is an expert bike mechanic on the side.

So I'm going to learn on a Ninja 250 while I am working on the F2's that I bought, because as much as I want to ride, I want to learn everything I can about maintaining and working on them.

I paid $750 for the first one, and it's in decent shape. We're working on replacing the needle jets in the carbs.

The second one looked kind of messy when I picked it up ($600), but other than the damage, it is actually in overall good shape.