New Member Area New to CBRForum? Stop in and introduce yourself.

Coming up a little short

Search this Thread

Old 06-09-2016, 11:24 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Coming up a little short

Hey guys I'm brand new to riding and as a matter of fact I got my first real ride on a public road today! I bought a 2005 cbr 600rr a little under a week ago. Earlier this morning I was able to get her out on the open road just begin to see what she can do. I loved every second of it. My only really complaint is I'm having a bit of a height issue. I'm 5'11 at 160 lbs but I can't seem to get a flat foot on the ground...this is becoming a problem because I can not maneuver the bike in neutral will sitting on it...at all. At my height and weight I didn't think it would be an issue but I think I've found a solution. If I were to lower the bike an inch or two I wouldn't be afraid of having to come to a complete stop (which me being a first time rider is probably a major problem). What are my options here?

Old 06-09-2016, 11:59 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Try going to 5 Guys Burgers & Fries a couple times a week, lots of fried foods, especially pork, and dont forget whole milk & real butter. In a couple weeks the extra weight should squash the suspension down a little more, the reach to the ground will be a little closer.

Old 06-10-2016, 12:13 AM
Default For real?

That's your answer? Dude I'm a pretty average size for a 20 something year old, and your answer is just gain 30 lbs and then start riding your +$3000 investment? If getting fat is the only answer to riding sport bikes then I don't think u have any business on this forum will all do respect.

Old 06-10-2016, 01:00 AM
Administrator and MVN, March 2012/Oct 2013 ROTM
Received 117 Likes on 107 Posts

Relax, Frank is just having a bit of fun.

At 5 11, you should have no problem touching. Is the rear shock cranked up for a passenger?

Old 06-10-2016, 01:55 AM