New Member Area New to CBRForum? Stop in and introduce yourself.

BRAND NEW rider any tips?

Search this Thread

Old 06-05-2011, 03:26 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default BRAND NEW rider any tips?

Hey guys i'm VERY new to bikes and just got one last week. i've been riding as much as i can and am looking for any tips or things to pay attention for seeing as i'm new. as far as the bike goes, I just got a 1989 600 and I was completely surprised by the power and everything. i was nervous at first and am feeling more comfortable on it as the days pass, but definately respect the power it has. This really put things into perspective and made me really think about taking it slow and steady. I am really just into riding for now. not really stunting or racing since i'm new, but anways just wanted to introduce myself and see if anyone has any tips or things to look our for.

Thanks and I appreciate everything.

P.S. also i'm new to the whole forum thing...so any "definitions" of forum slang or shortucts would be greatly appreciated.

Old 06-05-2011, 05:44 AM
Retired Super Moderator - At large E=MC2
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Welcome to the joy of motorcycles. Sounds like you are starting off with the right attitude.
If you click on a lot of the other new rider posts you will see a lot of varied advice on beginner riding.
The main thing to keep in mind ...it takes a few thousand miles before muscle memory is sufficent to the task at hand, so go easy on speed. The basic act of riding a bike is simple, reacting smoothly and on time in a crisis is not. So, avoid the number one path to crisis, SPEED.

Try to be aware of not just where you are going, but what is happening at the sides of that path. Cars, people, animals tend to pop-up suddenly, so learn to detect and anticipate. If you are not surprised, you will not delay/hesitate in dealing with obstacles/threats as they occur.