New Member Area New to CBRForum? Stop in and introduce yourself.

Battery drains

Search this Thread

Old 06-13-2017, 11:20 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Battery drains

I am new to this forum so Hi everyone .
I have brought a CBR1000F 1987 and I am having a problem starting it I have brought a new battery and check the regulator rectifier and that is reading fine on a meter. But when I try starting it it drains the battery before I know it was wondering if anyone can give me some ideas as to what the problem could be . I am not a mechanical person but know a bit to get things sorted . This is my first bike project and would be greatful of some help and to hear the engine running. So to any reply many many thanks

Old 06-14-2017, 09:43 AM
Received 30 Likes on 28 Posts

Not sure if I understand correctly. So the bike turns over but won't fire up and soon after you run out of battery power to keep trying ?
First things first, you need to know if you have a spark at the plugs. No point in keep turning her over if you have no spark. You've obviously checked fuel etc.
What stage is this project at, have you heard it running at all ?

Old 06-14-2017, 12:18 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by wes 17
Not sure if I understand correctly. So the bike turns over but won't fire up and soon after you run out of battery power to keep trying ?
First things first, you need to know if you have a spark at the plugs. No point in keep turning her over if you have no spark. You've obviously checked fuel etc.
What stage is this project at, have you heard it running at all ?
Thanks for showing so interest and getting bk.