How-To: Mechanical This section is ONLY for sharing step-by-step instructions on how you did a project. Please post tech related questions in "General Tech". Adherence to this policy will be strictly enforced by the staff ...

Novice changes to steel lines.

Search this Thread

Old 03-23-2012, 10:13 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Novice changes to steel lines.

I am not a mechanic; but I did successfully change my stock brake lines (front only) from the oem to steel lines from Galfer. My bike is a 1997 600f. I will try to explain with text and pictures, what I did and the problems that I had. I do not suggest that this is the best way to do the job; but I ended up with a nice firm lever and strong front brakes. It was def. worth the upgrade imho.

Tools you will need
1. 14mm socket or open ended wrench
2. 12 mm socket or wrench if you also change pads.
3. lots of paper towels and rags.
4. plastic pan to collect old fluid.
5. 8 oz. sqeeze bottles. (not essential, but very useful)
6. bleeder vacuum pump. (got mine from Harbor Freight)

Here is what I did:
Name:  DSC00662.jpg
Views: 184
Size:  105.9 KB
cover every painted surface with rags or towels. Fluid will ruing your paint. It will drip during the job.

Name:  DSC00663.jpg
Views: 151
Size:  82.4 KB
remove fender (forgot to mention 5mm allen is used for this) This will make removing the old lines easier and will give you a view of what you need to remove. Cover your tire with a towel. You will need to remove bolts from oem bracket (on fork and above radiator) and the lines, once removed from the caliper will drip. If you are replacing the pads, you could remove the calipers and move everything over to one side of the bike before you remove banjo bolts and let fluid run out of old lines.

Name:  DSC00685.jpg
Views: 150
Size:  49.1 KB
loosen the banjo bolts at the master cylinder (MC) and the fluid will run out of the lines.
Name:  DSC00671.jpg
Views: 177
Size:  179.2 KB
lines draining into a pan.