How-To: Mechanical This section is ONLY for sharing step-by-step instructions on how you did a project. Please post tech related questions in "General Tech". Adherence to this policy will be strictly enforced by the staff ...

how to synchronize carbies

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-2008, 05:08 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default how to synchronize carbies

I regularly find people asking how to balance their carbies so I thought I'd do a write up. I hope the pictures work as I can't see them in the preview. I'm not a mechanic but I have been doing it for a long time on several bikes. Each bike has it's own personality which dictates some of the finer points but the basic method is the same for all. At the end of the day the more you do it the more you will understand your bikes personality & what works & what doesn't.

Firstly the only special tool required is a balanced set of gauges. Either dial or liquid work fine. I use gauges as they are more robust & don't rely on having exact amounts of liquid. You will see in the pictures that mine are old. I mean real old. Rusty, broken glass etc. They have even been in a high speed car rollover & bounced down the road. They were calibrated & good as new. To business.

Make sure the bike is on the centre stand or similar. Remove the seat & fairing etc & raise the tank all enough to give access to the carbies. I personally disconnect the prop stay from it's slider & prop it on the carbies. It lifts the tank higher & allows just a bit more room.

To do the job properly you must clean & gap your plugs, check the air filter & make sure the valves are adjusted correctly.

Remove the rubber caps that block the vacuum ports being careful not to break the rubber or drop a circlip. They are hard to find if dropped.