General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Not the carbs? 2nd gear sputter.

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2007, 04:37 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Not the carbs? 2nd gear sputter.

Here is my problem. I have a 97 F3. 21k. It was doing fine untill my ignition fuse blew. I replaced the fuse and about 200 miles later I noticed a slight "jerk" in RPMs. Meaning it would change RPMs about 500 at a time up and down. It was slight at first but continued to get worse. Now my problem get worse. This bike will rev up no problem out of gear but as soon as I put it in first anf get to about 5000 rpms it will cut out like it's starving for gas. Here is what I did and FYI I'm an aircraft mechanic so I'm pretty sure I know what I'm doing so please lets drop the rookie mech stuff.

1. I replaced the plugs. No change.
2. I check the plug wires. NNo change.
3. I clean the carbs. No change.
4. I ran carb cleaner though thegas tank. No change.
5. Checked the fuel pump. No Change.
6.I took it to a shop. No change

While it was in the shop I became impatient so I asked if I could help. The shop is very cool and let me assist. This is what we did in the shop.

1. Tore the carbs of and had them cleaned and soaked. No change.
2.By passed the full pump. No change.
3.By passed the gas tank with gas/IV bag. No changed.
4. Eliminated CA emissions. No change.
5. Removed and replaced carb with NEW set of carbs. NO CHANGE!