General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New bike, pre ride tune up needed.

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2010, 11:57 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New bike, pre ride tune up needed.

Hello all, So I am back in the bike scene with a 93 900RR that is sick mint with 13k on the clock. I would like to give it a total tune up and maintenance. I was wondering if there is like a Chilton or other type of tear down manual for this bike and if doing these things would be difficult. I have never worked on bikes before but I am mechanically inclined and work on my own cars (VW's mostly), here is what I need to get done. Coolant flush and fill Spark plugs Jetting of carbs / balancing (saw a good tut on balancing with the carbtune, seems pretty easy!) oil change header back exhaust and my choke lever won't stay up, I have to hold it or it sinks back down Prolly could use and most likely will get new sprockets and chain when I figure out what I want. Thanks!

Old 07-13-2010, 12:02 AM

What you want is a service manual. Ebay has them most of the time. Or, you can find one online and download it. they are in PDF format so they are basically like looking at the book itself. If you can find one, a lot of manuals can be downloaded for free. Check out the sticky on manuals, see if you can find your bike and download it. The only downside is its on your computer, and not in the garage with you. However, you can always print out the pages you need and take them to the garage. I have both pdf and hardcopy for my bike, and I use the hardcopy more often.