General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Lower RPM's

Old 03-24-2012, 01:12 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lower RPM's

Ok guys. I'm new to bikes so please tolerate my lack of knowledge (stupidity). I have an 96 F3 with OEM sprockets. I want to decrease my top end RPM's. What way do I go for a sproket change? I will be riding in the 55 -60 mph range to and from work most of the time but do see some weeknd riding in the future. Searched the threads and it seem's everyone wants to do the opposite. I'm thinking less R's = better gas mph??

Old 03-24-2012, 01:35 PM
Welcome Crew and May 2012 Ride of the Month
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

If thats what you want to do then you either raise your front sprocket size or lower your rear.

Here is a good site to play around with.

www.gearingcommander.com

Old 03-24-2012, 02:47 PM

As already said, go up in number of teeth on your front sprocket and lower on number of teeth for your rear. Be careful here though, you can go low on your cruising rpm and end up with worse mpg. There is a point where your engine is the most efficient. If you get out the powerband of the engine, it may cause the engine to work harder and fuel economy will suffer. Remember, these engines are rather high rpm and do not make really good power until your up in the R's quite a bit. I would suggest going one up on the front. Much more than that and the bike will be harder to take off with.

Also, if you really want to save of fuel, stay out of the throttle on take off. That is where a lot of fuel is used. Also, make sure your chain is well lubed and clean and make sure you run your tire pressure at its max. The higher pressure tires will have less rolling resistance. You can always lower your tire pressure for your weekend rides.