General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Looking for a bike for girlfriend, is this it???

Search this Thread

Old 02-07-2007, 05:32 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Looking for a bike for girlfriend, is this it???

Can you guys/gals help me? My knowledge of motorcycles is very limited in regards to repairs. I am a noob and trying to learn. I want to get a bike for my girlfriend but save a little money on it by making a winter project out of it. can you give me some advice on this one?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/1993-...QQcmdZViewItem

Thanks again,
Justin

Old 02-08-2007, 07:34 AM
Default RE: Looking for a bike for girlfriend, is this it???

i dont think its worth it them bikes are 2500bucks brand new and he wants 900 plus you will spend a nother 500 in repairs to get it back going and its a 93 model.....no

Old 02-08-2007, 08:17 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Don't know much about prices over there, but these guys can leak oil up through the air box, 250's are always an "iffie", cause they usually have the buggery thrashed out of them by inexperienced riders, with usual dings and scratches. I agree that if the price is close to a newie then go that way, let your girlfirend at least have the benefit of a bike that you know will be ok from the get go. If you have to go 2nd hand then I would be trawling through the local papers and dealers (for a warranty) and at least be able to actually see wot your getting. Take someone else with you to kick the tyres, check the oil, and to sit on the bike while you inspect the front end for bearings & possible fork damage. Those fairings can hide a lot of "history" so take a panel off.
Kawaski makes a decent bike, I've owned a few ancestors of the one your looking at and have had very few problems.

Old 02-08-2007, 08:20 AM
Retired Moderator
Received 1 Like on 1 Post